Annual Parochial Church Meeting 2018

Wednesday 25th April 7.30pm to 9.30pm at Church

Worship, prayer, a talk from Leonard, elections and annual reporting.

Early Voting is available for those who are unable to attend the meeting from 6.10 – 7.15pm
Refreshments, including cheese and wine will be served from 7pm

What happens at the APCM?

The evening includes elections to the role of Church Warden and membership of the Parochial Church Council (PCC) and Edgbaston Deanery Synod – For all these positions and to vote at the meeting you need to be on the Electoral Roll (click here to find out more).

To join the Electoral Roll in time to vote at the APCM, please complete an Electoral Roll form and return it to the Church Office by Tuesday 3rd April. You can  download an Electoral Roll form or pick one up at church.

NB  You only need to complete a form if you are not already on the Electoral Roll. 

Who should come to the APCM?

We encourage all those who consider themselves to be regular members of St John’s, or who are on the Electoral Roll to attend. It is an important ‘looking back/looking forward’ meeting, and ideally we all need to be present to be involved in the life of our church.

What is the PCC?

The PCC is the elected body of the church which meets during the year to conduct business and make decisions concerning the life of St John’s.

How is the PCC elected?
People at St John’s who are on the Electoral Roll can be nominated for PCC. At the APCM an election will take place. Five people are elected each year for a three year term initially. Only those who are on the Electoral Roll can take part in the voting.
Please pray for the nomination and election process and your part in it so that just the right people are elected to this important ministry.

A copy of the PCC Nomination form is available to download & obtained at Church from Sunday 25th March. Deadline for return of completed nominations Sunday 22nd April.

What is the Deanery Synod?

This is a Synod comprising clergy and lay representatives from each local parish in the Edgbaston area. The number of lay representatives reflects numbers on the Electoral Roll.

St John’s is entitled to six lay representatives who are elected to the Synod for three years at the APCM.  Deanery Synod members are ex-officio members of their own PCCs.  At this year’s APCM we will be holding elections for four Deanery Synod representatives.

Representatives, proposers and seconders must be on St John’s Electoral Roll.

As a member of Deanery Synod you will be expected to attend the Deanery Synod meetings and the PCC meetings. There are usually three Deanery Synod meetings each year.

A copy of the Deanery Nomination form is available to download & obtain at Church from Sunday 25th March.  Deadline for Deanery Synod nominations Sunday 22nd April.

Is there any more information I can read?

If you would like to find out more about the APCM, PCC, or Deanery Synod please read more in this helpful guide.




14th Mar 2018 Posted in: News by Fran Varley 0

Leave a comment on this post:

Please Fill in the captcha so we can verify you're Human * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Copyright © 2011. St John's Church, Harborne, Birmingham. Registered Charity No 1132862. Terms and Conditions. User Login. Photo/image credits.